Day Trading Margins for Emini S&P Futures Contract

Emini S&P Futures Contract – Day Trading Margins

 

Emini S&P Futures Contract – Day Trading Margins

Optimus Futures provides $500-day Futures trading margins for the Emini S&P which is one of the sought-after instruments by day traders. Please call us to inquire about Emini SP Trading 800 771 6748 email: General@optimusfutures.com 

Each Futures Clearing Merchant makes their own day trading margins for the ES contract. Also, you must know the specific cut-off time for day trading margins.   Overnight margins for the ES contact are determined by the exchange and as such are nonnegotiable. Please refer to this link ES Contract margins for overnight : ES Margins

However, we also want you to understand the risk and reward associated with futures trading and the risk you face utilizing such leverage.

Essentially, a trader with $5K, could trade up to 10 contracts (not a recommendation , the number of contracts is for illustration only).
Let’s do the math: if a trader loses more than 5 full points ($50 per point), its:
5 points X 10 Contracts x $50 a point = $2,500 LOSS (50% of $5,000)

if a trader wins more than 5 full points ($50 per point), its:
5 pointsX10 Contracts x $50 a point = $2,500 Win (50% of $5,000)

Since smart trading is about risk management, it is important that you use leverage wisely. The use of leverage can increase your reward, but can also substantially increase to the same degree your losses.

THERE IS A SUBSTANTIAL RISK OF LOSS IN FUTURES TRADING. PAST PERFORMANCE IS NOT INDICATIVE OF FUTURE RESULTS.

Trading hours: Sunday – Friday 6:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. ET (5:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m. CT) with 15-minute trading halt Monday – Friday 4:15 p.m. – 4:30 p.m. ET (3:15 p.m. – 3:30 p.m. CT). Monday – Thursday 5:00 p.m. – 6:00 p.m. ET (4:00 p.m. – 5:00 p.m. CT) daily maintenance period.

Minimum Trading Ticks: 0.25 index points=$12.50

There is a substantial risk of loss in futures trading. Past performance is not indicative of future results.

You are not signed in. Sign in to post comments.